I’m alive…. really.

No, I did not fall off the face of the earth… although I’m sure it would be nice and quiet there.

I’ve just been my usual slacking self, watching Netflix, telling myself to eat healthier, and drinking way too much coffee.

Since I blogged last, our family dynamic has changed a smidge.

We said goodbye to not 1, but 2 of our fur-baby friends.

Both are very much alive, but after 3 of my moms cats passed away she decided to take our 300lb cat (who’s actually hers), back home. Then, after 1 year of trying to find the cause of Oscars behavioral issues, we finally made the choice to re-home him somewhere with older children and no other animals.

I have spoken to his new owner many times and received multiple pictures and he is LOVING his new home. She also managed to discover that he go bonkers for olives- who knew? We are glad that it worked out though. It was a really hard decision to make, and despite the fact that he was an ass, I still loved him.

So, after we found Oscar a new home, and were waiting for his new owner to come get him, (they needed a week or so because they were in the middle of a move), I was still very upset that he was leaving.

While I was in Petsmart getting Oscar’s last tub of cat litter… I passed the adoptions section, which works with local rescues to find homeless animals a home.

Some of you may or may not know, but when an animal is picked up by animal control or a high-kill shelter, they are given 3 days to be adopted before being euthanized. That is heartbreaking!

Rescues go and save the cats not only from the high-kill shelters themselves but even animals right off the street. In this case, they saved a pregnant cat and her kittens and that’s how we came to meet “Boots”. For me, it was love at first sight…but I knew I’d have to convince the husband.

For those of you who don’t know Aaron, he has a bit of a soft spot for black cats. So, despite his “no nonsense” view of not getting anymore animals after our previous pets, as soon as “Boots” turned his little head and looked up at Aaron, he instantly turned to mush.

We went in for cat litter, and left with a rescue kitten.

I’m also glad to say that we renamed “Boots”, (partially due to the fact that Dora the Explorer makes my skin crawl, and also because I think animals should have people names). So after debating on names for DAYS, we decided on “Max” for our new furbaby.(I also call him”Maxi-pad” when he likes to climb on my face at 3am, fart beside me on the couch, and climb through my fridge)

Also, “Alfred” was a close second! This was because:

a) it looks like my cat is wearing a dinner jacket

and

b) Every batman needs a butler 😉

10910_10152956689169622_5567981464329197228_n

Leave a Reply

